An “erroneous display of graphics” was what the International Cricket Council (ICC) called the controversial Decision Review System (DRS) moment during the World Cup 2023 match between Pakistan and South Africa.
World Cup: ICC addresses DRS controversy in Pak-SA match
Pakistan lost their fourth straight World Cup match the day before, with Proteas successfully chasing down Green Shirts’ 271-run target, reducing their chances of moving on to the semi-finals of the mega-event.
Rassie van der Dussen, a batter for the Proteas, looked over the lbw decision after being out by the on-field umpire during the game. At first, the tracking of the ball showed that impact was the “umpire’s call” and the wicket was “missing.” The graphics were then changed right away to a new one that showed “umpires call” for both impact and wickets.
“In today’s match between South Africa and Pakistan, an incomplete graphic was erroneously displayed during the LBW review of Rassie van der Dussen,” a spokesperson from the ICC said.
“In the end, the finished graphic with all the right details was shown,” he said.
It’s important to note that later in the game, another controversial call was made that changed the tide and helped South Africa win. South Africa needed 8 runs to win on the last ball of the 46th over. Haris Rauf’s delivery was pitched on a length and hit Tabraiz Shamsi on the front foot, leaving a big space between the bat and the pad. A not-out was called by the fielder. The Men in Green chose a referral from DRS. When the ball tracking system was used, it showed that the impact was right on the stumps, even though the ball had been pitched outside off and only touched the leg stump. Thus, the on-field umpire’s decision stood, letting the batter live and leading South Africa to their fifth win, thanks to Keshav Maharaj’s important help.