Sri Lanka keeps Asia Cup winners for T20 World Cup 2022

The T20 World Cup squad features many players who also participated in the 2022 Asia Cup. Matheesha Pathirana made his international debut at the Asia Cup. Along with Nuwan Thushara and Asitha Fernando, has been left off of both the main and reserve teams. The senior middle-order hitter, Dinesh Chandimal is not even included in the active roster. After making appearances in the Asia Cup, Dhananjaya de Silva and Jeffrey Vandersay were kept on the roster. Sri Lanka keeps Asia Cup winners for T20 World Cup 2022 is news of the day. Read out the complete details down below with us!

Sri Lanka keeps Asia Cup winners for T20 World Cup 2022

On Friday, selectors for Sri Lanka’s next T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia said that the team’s roster, including stars like Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara, will remain substantially unchanged from the one that won the Asia Cup. Matheesha Pathirana and Asitha Fernando were cut from the 15-man roster to make way for the more seasoned pair. Both players made their debuts at the Dubai competition last month. Both Chameera and Kumara are on the mend from injuries. But Sri Lanka Cricket has declared they will participate if they are healthy enough.

Praveen Jayawickrama and Ashen Bandara will be in Australia on October 16 in case of any last-minute injuries or cancellations before the competition begins. Due to political upheaval, Sri Lanka could not host the Asia Cup. After losing the tournament’s opening game to Afghanistan, they returned strong and defeated Pakistan by 23 runs on the final day to claim victory.

T20 World Cup squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera (Subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (Subject to fitness), Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan

Standby Players: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando

Sri Lanka keeps Asia Cup winners for T20 World Cup
Gulfishaa Avaan
Gulfishaa Avaan
Gulfishaa is writer who delivers engaging and informative news on sports to readers of Ten Sports TV Website.



Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here