Super 8: India targets 206 runs against Australia

India established a goal of 206 runs when Australia invited them to bat first in the Super Eight match of the T20 World Cup 2024, which took place at Daren Sammy Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet.

Super 8: India targets 206 runs against Australia

The standout moment of India’s innings was the remarkable performance by their skipper, Rohit Sharma. He displayed an explosive stroke, scoring 92 runs off just 41 balls, aided by seven fours and eight sixes. This outstanding display not only secured victory but also shattered several records.

India’s innings got off to a dismal start when their top batsman, Virat Kohli, was dismissed without scoring any runs. Nevertheless, despite losing his partner, Sharma continued to play aggressive cricket.

Sharma achieved a score of 29 runs against Mitchell Starc, hitting four sixes and a four in the process. This over marked the beginning of Sharma’s aggressive attack on the Australian bowlers, which continued until the finish of his innings.

The 37-year-old batsman was poised to achieve his well-earned century, but his innings was abruptly terminated by Starc’s yorker. Following Sharma’s exit, Suryakumar Yadav delivered a rapid 31-run innings off 16 balls, while Shivam Dube contributed 28 runs from 22 balls.

Hardik Pandya, batting lower in the order, contributed a vital 27 runs from 17 deliveries, enabling India to finish their innings at a total of 205-5 in 20 overs.

In the Australian cricket team, Mitchell Starc and Marcus Stoinis each took two wickets, Josh Hazlewood took one wicket, while Pat Cummins and Adam Zampa did not manage to take any wickets.

Today, Mitchell Marsh, the captain of Australia, won the coin toss and explained that they chose to bowl first because they believe the track is in better condition for chasing.

“On several occasions, we encountered this situation where we had no choice but to defend ourselves,” Marsh stated. “At this juncture of the tournament, every match is imperative to win, and the accompanying stress is inherent.”

Playing XIs

Australia: Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh (capt), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Arshdeep Singh, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Super 8: India targets 206 runs against Australia

Gulfishaa Avaan
Gulfishaa Avaan
Gulfishaa is writer who delivers engaging and informative news on sports to readers of Ten Sports TV Website.



Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here