President’s Trophy rules change by PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) changed the playing conditions for the departmental first-class cricket event, the “President’s Trophy,” which began in Karachi on Saturday. Since they differ from first-class cricket rules internationally, the playing conditions have drawn criticism from several quarters. One major change is limiting teams’ innings to 80 overs, unlike first-class cricket.

President’s Trophy rules change by PCB

The amended playing conditions limit both teams to 80 overs in their first innings but not in the second. Batting teams scoring 350 or more runs and bowling teams dismissing opponents in 80 overs receive additional points. The updated circumstances include a unique clause that awards the bowling side a bonus point if the batting captain declares the innings before 80 overs. Bazid Khan, a former test cricketer and broadcaster, has attacked first-class cricket’s deteriorating circumstances.

On President Trophy Day 1, State Bank and SNGPL earned bonus points after beating PTV and Ghani Glass, respectively. SBP sports complex bowled PTV out for 66 runs with 6 wickets from State Bank’s Mohammad Abbas, allowing 19 runs in 11 overs. Zain Abbas scored an undefeated century (109), and Umar Amin remained unbeaten at 69 as State Bank finished day one at 201 for 1.

President's Trophy rules change by PCB

1 for bowling out the opponent and 3 for leading in the first innings. They can get another bonus point on Sunday as they bat. SNGPL scored 371 runs in 80 overs for 7 wickets at the National Bank Stadium, earning a batting bonus point. Abid Ali scored 90, Asad Shafiq 81, Sahibzada Farhan 67, Omair Bin Yousaf 56, and Ghani Glass’ Mohammad Rameez 6 wickets. Despite centuries from Iftikhar Ahmed and Mohammad Saleem for WAPDA, the team missed a bonus point at the UBL sports complex. Iftekhar Ahmed scored 155 off 180 and Mohammad Saleem 117 as WAPDA scored 322 runs in 80 overs with 6 wickets.

Gulfishaa Avaan
Gulfishaa Avaan
Gulfishaa is writer who delivers engaging and informative news on sports to readers of Ten Sports TV Website.



Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here