Pat Cummins names the Australian team for Test matchup against Pakistan

Travis Head will again be co-vice captain of Australia’s playing XI for the opening Test match of the series against Pakistan, which was announced on Wednesday by captain Pat Cummins. For the first leg of the three-match Benaud-Qadir Trophy, the two teams are in Perth. The Australian captain Cummins revealed his team for the men’s international summer campaign, and there were no other surprises.

Pat Cummins names the Australian team for Test matchup against Pakistan

Nevertheless, Smith will continue to be the front-runner to assume captaincy in Cummins’ absence. Todd Murphy was replaced by Nathan Lyon, who is back in form, in the most recent lineup that participated in the August Ashes final at The Oval. After leading Australia, the three elite pace bowlers, Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood, will get back together.

David Warner, who has been in the news a lot in the lead-up to this game due to his position on the team, will bat first. The 37-year-old will hang up his boots after this series’ final game in Sydney if he is selected. For the first time, Mitch Marsh will take the field in front of his home supporters at Perth Stadium in a Test match. Despite losing to Cameron Green in the Ashes. The 32-year-old is still the preferred all-rounder. Travis Head had led the Test side as vice-captain once before, under Tim Paine.

Pat Cummins names the Australian team for Test matchup against Pakistan


Australia squad: (first Test only) Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head. Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Lance Morris, Steve Smith, Mitch Starc, David Warner.

Pakistan squad: Shan Masood (c), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq. Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Test series schedule

  • First Test: December 14-18, Perth Stadium
  • Second Test: December 26-30, MCG
  • Third Test: January 3-7, SCG
Gulfishaa Avaan
Gulfishaa Avaan
Gulfishaa is writer who delivers engaging and informative news on sports to readers of Ten Sports TV Website.



Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here