ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, hosted by Australia and organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC), has officially begun. The Pakistan cricket team has landed in Australia for the world’s biggest cricket tournament.

The Men in Green are headed to the World Cup with their triangular series win in New Zealand. The major cricket tournament, including 16 teams, will begin today (October 16) and last for nearly a month. The teams are split into two groups with equal strength.

Most of the matches’ tickets have already been purchased. Also, the much-anticipated Pakistan-India match has sold out. There will be more than 90,000 people at the Melbourne Cricket Ground to enjoy the exciting cricket.

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

Running through February 21, the first round will get underway. Eight teams will fight in this round to see who will advance to the Super 12 stage. The countries of the Netherlands, Sri Lanka, the United Arab Emirates, and Namibia make up Group A. Group B consists of Ireland, the West Indies, Scotland, and Zimbabwe.

Each group’s top two finishers will advance to the Super 12 tournament. With their rankings in mind, eight clubs have already been placed in their respective groups. Group 1 comprises Australians, English, and New Zealanders, whereas Group 2 includes Indians, Pakistanis, and South Africans.

The 2018 tournament marks the eighth iteration of the Twenty20 World Cup. A total of seven Australian cities (Melbourne, Geelong, Hobart, Sydney, Perth, Brisbane, and Adelaide) will serve as venues for the international cricket competition. Plus, Australia is making history by playing home to cricket’s shortest format event.

Before 2015, the country had hosted the ODI World Cup in 1992. India won the inaugural Twenty20 World Cup in 2007. Also, in 2009, Pakistan won the competition after only two years of participation. In 2010, England won the title, and then in 2012, the West Indies did. In 2014, Sri Lanka, and 2016, England once again.

For their first game, defending champions Australia will take on New Zealand. The public’s enthusiasm for the competition has been met with delight by the organizers, especially the International Cricket Council.

The authorities made standing-room-only tickets available and sold out in under ten minutes. The International Cricket Council (ICC) has released a statement confirming that the significant event will have a total prize fund of $5.6 million. The grand prize for the victors is US$1.6 million, with $800,000 going to the runners-up. Each of the two semi-finalist teams will get $400,000.

ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022

Gulfishaa Avaan
Gulfishaa Avaan
Gulfishaa is writer who delivers engaging and informative news on sports to readers of Ten Sports TV Website.



Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here